Garden at the beginning of March 2017 

Wow, so much has started growing in the garden in the last month, and I desperately need to get out there to do some gardening!

The lawn is still mossy and rather squelchy under foot.

There are crocuses and daffodils everywhere, looking lovely, bright and cheerful. After a cold winter the beginning of March has been warmer than normal so there are plenty of signs of Spring around.

The only herbs I’ve got left are this pot of chives, which has just started sprouted again. I did have herbs planted in the raised bed at the back of the garden, but we had to lose that section when we had the building work done last year. I never got round to doing anything about replacing them last year as LO was still so small and took up lots (!) of time. This year I’m planning to grow the herbs we use most often (rosemary, thyme, basil, mint) in pots on the patio, where LO will be able to see and smell them easily (and probably also pull them up!). 

The Camellia buds are waiting to burst open. Any day now. 

More signs of new growth. This is the first sign of the Dicentra appearing. Within weeks it’ll be big and covered with beautiful heart-shaped flowers. It has self-sown some seedlings nearby too, which you can see towards the edge of the photo.

I love these Hellebores. I grew them from seed taken from one given to us by our neighbour. The original had much paler flowers but these have turned out to be deep pink. Our garden is quite sunny but this area in the front garden, tucked in behind the wall, is shadier and seems to be better for growing woodland type plants. 

The containers I planted up in the Autumn with some help from LO. Tiny daffodils with some winter-flowering pansies. Quick, simple but effective! I need to cut back the Japanese anemome stems from last year to the left of the picture.

Think that’s all for this month. Have your Spring flowers started to appear too? 

2 thoughts on “Garden at the beginning of March 2017 

  1. It is all beautiful. I’m always impressed with your garden. ☺ Especially love the daffs and crocuses. Our daffodils have been out for a while but the crocus, not yet.

    LO will get quite a thrill from helping you gather dinner herbs I think. Mine, I let them hold the top while I cut the portion I want. Although Sprout was old enough last year to pick individual basil leaves. I kept a small basket near the door for herb gathering. ❤

    Oh and can’t wait to see your camellia flower. I forgot the color of it. Ours is done, now, and I already miss those big red blooms in the front window.

Leave a Reply

